Don Worth

Portrait

With his extraordinary black-and-white photographs, Don Worth (1924 – 2009) belongs to one of the most influential American landscape and plant photographers of the 20th Century. He was the first full-time assistant to legendary Ansel Adams (1902 – 1984) and taught photography at the San Francisco State University for 30 years, alongside his work as a trained composer and piano player. From 1960, Don Worth devoted his life mostly to photography and cultivated rare subtropical plants whose beauty and perfection had always fascinated him. His gelatin-Silver photographs – taken with Ansco or Deardorff large-format cameras, and developed by hand in his darkroom – are both technically and aesthetically exquisite works of art.

Don Worth was in close contact with representatives of the famous group f/64 of American West-Coast photographers, which was founded in 1932 by Edward Weston (1886 – 1958), Imogen Cunningham (1883 – 1976), Ansel Adams, and other pioneers. The group’s manifesto can be understood as a backlash to the prevailing pictorialism of the late 19th and early 20th Centuries. The representatives of f/64 wanted to move away from the impressionistic style that had culminated in the work of Alfred Stieglitz (1864 – 1946) and other photographers around the turn of the century. The West-Coast School aimed for a modern, pure imagery termed «pure photography», which was characterized by truthfulness, clarity, and maximum depth-of-field.

Inspired by the flower paintings of Georgia O’Keeffe (1887 – 1986) as well as by f/64 pioneers, Don Worth developed his very own style in plant photography over decades. His passion for Nature, especially for trees, leaves, flowers, and succulents, goes back to his childhood on a remote farm in Iowa, but also to the rich Californian flora around the San Francisco Bay. In his home in Marin County, he cultivated and photographed numerous subtropical plants in his lush garden and greenhouse, a passion that lasted for more than four decades.

Don Worth‘s meditative-looking photographs are precisely composed works of art that invite the viewer to take in the fascinating beauty of the floral world. Don developed a particular preference for cacti and succulents with their regular, almost abstract patterns in the changing play of light. Their shapes reminded him of mandalas and other iconic signs.

To Don Worth, photography was more than just precise representation of the world of appearances. Photography was a form of meditation combined with increased awareness and deep devotion. Through the photographic process, Don not only got to know himself better, he increasingly understood his work as a calling to explore Nature in its abundance, beauty, and order. In doing so, the introverted artist went beyond the visible and intuitively deciphered the spiritual essence of all being.

Today, one decade after his death, Don Worth‘s timeless photographs are coveted collectors’ items, often selling for thousands of Dollars. His works are represented in over 30 major collections and museums, especially in the USA. These include the Museum of Modern Art (MoMa) and the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles, the Chicago Art Institute, the Australian National Gallery in Canberra, the Yokohama Museum of Art in Japan, and many more.

Despite more than 100 exhibitions during his lifetime, Don Worth’s work has so far bben known mostly to collectors and enthusiasts in the USA. With the tribute exhibition FLORAL MEDITATION, WBB GALLERY organized in 2021 the first major Don Worth retrospective in Europe.

© WBB GALLERY (Zurich, CH) & Don Worth Photography Trust (San Francisco, CA)

Statement

»The camera, with its special magic, is able to arrest the ceaseless flow of time and preserve a tiny segment of life.« – Source: Don Worth: Close to Infinity: Photographs From Six Decades, Photography West Graphics Inc., Carmel, California, 2005

Don Worth

Video

Promotion video of the exhibition FLORAL MEDITATION (2020/2021) at WBB GALLERY (© 2021 Wallimann Art Creation, Zürich)

Traveling Exhibition

The exhibition FLORAL MEDITATION with 26 valuable, professionally framed original prints by Don Worth can be rented by museums for traveling exhibitions or retrospectives. In addition to the photographs, the exhibition also includes four panels that illuminate the life and work of the master in detail. If you are a curator, please contact the gallery (Dr. Peter Wallimann: +41 79 388 7309; info@wbb.gallery).

Acquisition by Collectors

WBB GALLERY owns numerous valuable vintage photographs by Don Worth and other famous American 20th-Century photographers. If you are a collector or a curator and would like to make a purchase, please contact the gallery (Dr. Peter Wallimann: +41 79 388 7309; info@wbb.gallery)

error:

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your data will not be shared!

Don Worth

Portrait

Mit seinen aussergewöhnlichen Schwarz-Weiss-Aufnahmen gehört Don Worth (1924 – 2009) zu den einflussreichsten amerikanischen Landschafts- und Pflanzen-Fotografen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Er war der erste Vollzeit-Assistent des legendären Ansel Adams (1902 – 1984) und unterrichtete 30 Jahre lang Fotografie an der San Francisco State University, neben seiner Arbeit als ausgebildeter Komponist und Pianist. Ab 1960 widmete Don sein Leben fast vollständig der Fotografie und züchtete nebenbei seltene subtropische Pflanzen, deren Schönheit und Perfektion ihn schon immer fasziniert hatten. Seine in der Dunkelkammer von Hand entwickelten Silber-Gelatine-Fotografien, aufgenommen mit den besten Grossformat-Kameras seiner Zeit, sind sowohl technisch als auch ästhetisch erlesene Kunstwerke.

Don Worth stand in engem Kontakt mit Vertretern der berühmten «group f/64» amerikanischer Fotografen der US Westküste, welche von Edward Weston (1886 – 1958), Imogen Cunningham (1883 – 1976), Ansel Adams und anderen Pionieren 1932 gegründet worden war. Das Manifest der Gruppe kann als Gegenreaktion zum vorherrschenden Piktorialismus des späten 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts verstanden werden. Die Vertreter von f/64 wollten weg vom impressionistisch angehauchten Stil, wie er im Werk von Alfred Stieglitz (1864 – 1946) und anderen Fotografen um die Jahrhundertwende kulminierte. Die West-Coast-Schule strebten eine moderne, reine Bildsprache an – «pure photography» –, charakterisiert durch Wahrhaftigkeit, Klarheit und maximale Schärfentiefe.

Inspiriert von den Gemälden Georgia O’Keeffes (1887 – 1986) sowie Vertretern von f/64, entwickelte Don Worth seinen unverkennbaren fotografischen Stil. Seine Liebe zur Natur, insbesondere zu Bäumen, Blättern, Blumen und Sukkulenten, geht auf seine naturverbundene Kindheit auf einer abgelegenen Farm in Iowa zurück, aber auch auf die reichhaltige Flora Kaliforniens rund um das Becken von San Francisco. Dort, in seinem Haus in Marin County, kultivierte und fotografierte er vier Jahrzehnte lang subtropische Pflanzen in seinem üppigen Garten mit Gewächshaus.

Don Worths meditativ wirkenden Fotografien sind präzise komponierte Kunstwerke, die den Betrachter dazu einladen, die faszinierende Schönheit der floralen Welt in sich aufzunehmen. Eine besondere Vorliebe entwickelte der Fotograf für Kakteen und Sukkulenten mit ihren regelmässigen, fast abstrakten Mustern im wechselnden Spiel des Lichts. Ihre Formen erinnerten ihn an Mandalas und andere ikonische Zeichen.

Für Don war Fotografie mehr als nur das präzise Abbilden der Welt der Erscheinungen. Fotografie war eine Form der Meditation, verbunden mit erhöhter Achtsamkeit und tiefer Hingabe. Durch den Prozess des Fotografierens und Entwickelns lernte er einersetis sich selbst besser kennen, andererseits verstand Don Worth seine Arbeit als Berufung, die Natur in ihrer Fülle, Schönheit und Ordnung zu erforschen. Dabei ging er als Künstler über das Sichtbare hinaus und entschlüsselte die spirituelle Essenz des Seins.

Heute, ein Jahrzehnt nach seinem Tod, sind Worths Fotografien begehrte Sammlerstücke. Seine Aufnahmen sind in über 30 Sammlungen und Museen vertreten, vor allem in den USA. Dazu gehören das Museum of Modern Art (MoMa) und das Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, das J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles, das Chicago Art Institute, die Australian National Gallery in Canberra, das Yokohama Museum of Art in Japan und viele mehr.

Trotz mehr als 100 Ausstellungen zu Lebzeiten sind Don Worths Arbeiten in Europa bisher fast nur Sammlern und Liebhabern bekannt. Mit der Tribute-Ausstellung FLORAL MEDITATION widmet WBB GALLERY dem Altmeister die erste grössere Retrospektive ausserhalb der USA. Gezeigt werden 26 handgefertigte Vintage-Drucke subtropischer Pflanzen, aufgenommen zwischen 1960 und 2004, alle einzeln von Hand hergestellt, geprägt und signiert. Einige besonders seltene Fotografien aus einer Privatsammlung, in Auflagen von nur wenigen Abzügen, werden erstmals überhaupt gezeigt.

© WBB GALLERY (Zürich, CH) & Don Worth Photography Trust (San Francisco, CA)

Statement

»The camera, with its special magic, is able to arrest the ceaseless flow of time and preserve a tiny segment of life.« Quelle: Don Worth: Close to Infinity – Photographs From Six Decades, Photography West Graphics Inc., Carmel, California, 2005

Don Worth

Video

Video zur Ausstellung FLORAL MEDITATION (2020/2021) ind er WBB GALLERY (© 2021 Wallimann Art Creation, Zürich)

Wanderausstellung

Die Ausstellung FLORAL MEDITATION mit 26 wertvollen, professionell gerahmten Original-Abzügen von Don Worth kann von Museen für Wanderausstellungen oder Retrospektiven gemietet werden. Neben den Fotografien gehören vier Tafeln zur Ausstellung, welche Leben und Werk im Detail beleuchten. Bei kuratorischem Interesse, kontaktieren Sie bitte die Galerie (Dr. Peter Wallimann: +41 79 388 7309; info@wbb.gallery).

Ankauf durch Sammler

WBB GALLERY ist im Besitz zahlreicher wertvoller Vintage-Aufnahmen von Don Worth und anderen amerikanischen Fotografen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Falls Sie Sammler sind oder Kurator und einen Ankauf tätigen möchten, kontaktieren Sie bitte die Galerie (Dr. Peter Wallimann: +41 79 388 7309; info@wbb.gallery)

error:

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Ihre Daten bleiben vertraulich!