Marc Brousse

Short Profile

Visionary Architectural Art. – Marc Brousse has developed a new artistic language called “Traitillism”, by refining a technique originally discovered by Paul Clodel Cauchard. His drawings are made with ink, charcoal and graphite. Each work is freely drawn by hand, with the naked eye, and without any computational support. Marc is inspired by historic architectural monuments. In his works, the history and mythology of ancient civilizations shines through, but transformed to a higher, surreal level. Marc’s intriguing new architectural forms are based on curved and cylindrical perspectives and recondition our view of cities and the important role of environment. The artist wants to demonstrate the intimate relationship between Nature and Architecture based on «epigenetic», mutual principles.

Influenced by artists such as François Schuiten (city architecture), M.C. Escher (curves and cylindrical perspective), DeChirico (metaphysical principles), and Jacques Lequeu or Giovanni Battista Piranesi (pictorial and fictitious representations), Marc studied the history of the line from Renaissance to modern times. During his travels he has observed various types of dialog between Nature and architecture, including man’s futile attempt of taming Nature. By trying to understand the underlying principles of harmony, and by taking into account environmental aspects, the highly sensitive artist wants to spark new ideas concerning urban development in perfect harmony with Nature.

Since 2016, Marc has shown his artworks in more than 20 exhibitions in France, Belgium, Switzerland, and UK.

Statement

»Utopia contains the most powerful and mysterious lifeblood in history. It arises from the past to unveil the horizon. Only those who look towards what we do not see, can touch and change the world in a peculiar manner.«

Max Mustermann

Video Portrait

Animated art video illustrating the work by and the philosophy of Marc Brousse (© Marc Brousse, with kind permission).

Biogaphical Sketch

  • Born in1984 in Southern France
  • Bachelor’s degree in architecture, Faculty of Architecture, Toulouse, France
  • Master diploma, Faculty of Architecture, Technical University Delft, The Netherlands
  • Working for several years as an architect in Brussels, Belgium, and Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Development of «Traitillism», a new urban-poetry drawing style
  • Since 2015, focus on art: ink and charcoal drawings on paper and canvas; sculptures made of wood, clay, and stone
  • Lives and works in Bordeaux, France

Exhibitions

  • 2020: MIXTURA, group exhibition, WBB GALLERY, Zurich, Switzerland
  • 2019: TOPOS Project, Hackney Walk, London, United Kingdom
  • 2019: Prix de Dessin «Pierre David-Weill», finalist group show, Paris, France
  • 2019: Lamarque In Gallery, Crans Montana, Switzerland
  • 2018: ArtBox Gallery, Basel, Switzerland
  • 2017: «Art Truc Troc», Bozar Palace, Brussels, Belgium
  • 2016: Affordable Art Fair, Hampstead, London, United Kingdom
error:

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your data will not be shared!

Marc Brousse

Kurzportrait

Visionäre architektonische Kunst. – Marc Brousse hat eine neue Kunstform unter dem Begriff «Traitillismus» entwickelt, welche auf Paul Clodel Cauchard zurückgeht. Er fertigt seine filigranen Zeichnungen mit Tinte, Kohle und Graphit an, und zwar von Hand und blossem Auge, ohne digitale Hilfsmittel. Seine architektonische Inspiration bezieht Marc unter anderem von historischen Monumenten. In seinen Arbeiten zeigt sich die Geschichte und Mythologie alter Zivilisationen, die er auf eine surreale Ebene verlegt. Marcs Architektur verblüfft durch komplex gekrümmte und zylindrische Perspketiven. Seine Arbeiten verändern die Wahrnehmung und die Bedeutung von Städten und der Umwelt. Der Künstler weist auf die enge Verbindung von Natur und Architektur hin, beruhend auf «epigenetischen», sprich wechselseitigen, Prinzipien.

Marc hat die Enwicklung des Zeichnens von der Renaissance bis in die Moderne studiert, wobei er von Künstlern beeinflusst wurde wie François Schuiten (Stadtarchitektur), M.C. Escher (gekrümmte und zylindrische Perspektive), DeChirico (metaphysische Prinzipien) sowie Jacques Lequeu oder Giovanni Battista Piranesi (bildhafte und fiktive Darstellung). Aus zahlreichen Reisen hat er unterschiedliche Beziehungen zwischen Natur und Architektur gefunden, darunter auch den vergeblichen Versuch, die Natur architektonisch zu zähmen. Als sensibler, naturverbundener Künstler versucht Marc nicht nur, verborgene harmonische Prinzipien sichtbar zu machen, sondern nachhaltige architektonische Konzepte für die Koexistenz von Mensch und Natur zu finden.

Marc hat seine Arbeiten bisher in mehr als 20 Ausstellung in Frankreich, Belgien, England und der Schweiz gezeigt.

Statement

»Utopien beinhalten einen starken und mysteriösen Lebensnerv. Sie entstehen in der Vergangenheit und reichen bis über den Horizont der Zeit. Nur wer erkennt, was man nicht sieht, kann die Welt auf besondere Weise berühren und verändern.«

Marc Brousse

Video-Portrait

Animiertes Kunst-Video, das die Arbeits- und Denkweise von Marc Brousse illustriert (© Marc Brousse, mit frdl. Genehmigung).

Biographisches

  • Geborgen 1984 in Südfrankreich
  • Diplom, Architektonische Fakultät Toulouse (F)
  • Master, Architektonische Fakultät, Technische Universität Delft (NL)
  • Mehrjährige Arbeit als Architekt in Brüssel (B) und Amsterdam (NL)
  • Entwicklung von «Traitillismus» (städtische Poesie), eine neue  Art des Zeichnens
  • Seit 2015 freischaffender Künstler: Zeichnungen mit Tinte, Kohle und Graphit auf Papier und Leinwand; zudem Skulpturen aus Holz, Ton und Stein
  • Lebt und arbeitet in Bordeaux, Frankreich

Ausstellungen (Auswahl)

  • 2020: MIXTURA, WBB GALLERY, Zürich (CH)
  • 2019: TOPOS Project, Hackney Walk, London, UK
  • 2019: Prix de Dessin «Pierre David-Weill», Ausstellung der Finalisten, Paris (F)
  • 2019: Lamarque In Gallery, Crans Montana (CH)
  • 2018: ArtBox Gallery, Basel (CH)
  • 2017: «Art Truc Troc», Bozar Palace, Brüssel (B)
  • 2016: Affordable Art Fair, Hampstead, London (UK)
error:

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Ihre Daten bleiben vertraulich!