PURE PHOTOGRAPHY

20th Century Floral Masterworks

Museum Exhibition l 11 March – 26 August 2023  l  WBB GALLERY  l  Invitation

Imogen Cunningham (1883 – 1976) • Edward Weston (1886 – 1958) • Ansel Adams (1902 – 1984) • Wynn Bullock (1902 – 1975) • Willard Van Dyke (1906 – 1986) • Minor White (1908 – 1976) • Brett Weston (1911 – 1993) • Morley Baer (1916 – 1995) • Robert K. Byers (1918 – 1921) • Henry Gilpin (1922 – 2011) • Don Worth (1924 – 2009) • Walter Chappell (1925 – 2000) • Paul Caponigro (*1932) • Bob Kolbrener (*1942) • Michael Miner (*1949) • Ryuijie (*1950) • John Sexton (*1953) • Roman Loranc (*1956)

Description

The term «pure photography» goes back to the legendary group f/64 of American photographers mainly active in the San Francisco Bay area. Founded in 1932, pioneers such as Imogen Cunningham, Edward Weston, and Ansel Adams (among others) publicly opposed Pictorialism, a photographic tradition influenced by Impressionism and Romanticism. In contrast, group f/64 strove for straight black-and-white photography free of artificial manipulation, but characterized by authenticity and clarity, as well as by technical proficiency in the darkroom.

To achieve maximum depth of field, large-format cameras with negatives up to 8 × 10 inch, lenses with small apertures (f up to 64), and high-contrast photo paper were used. Fine shades of gray in combination with deep black tones led to a new visual language whose aesthetics often took on abstract traits, making the smallest details visible. Motifs of this New Realism were the landscape and flora of the American West, but also social and architectural themes, as well as nudes. These pioneers fundamentally changed the perception and the meaning of photography, inspiring generations of artists to this day, and laying the foundation for modern Fine Art Photography.

The museum exhibition titled «Pure Photography» stages both vintage and contemporary black-and-white photographs by 18 acclaimed American West-Coast photographers, the focus lying on floral motifs. Some of the original works on display cover almost 100 years of photographic history. However, even today, these photographs keep demonstrating the beauty and the sensitivity of Nature, which is more endangered than ever. Accordingly, many pioneers of black-and-white photography were early environmentalists, above all Ansel Adams, who campaigned for Nature conservation and national parks already in the early 1930s.

All works staged belong to a Swiss private collection. A part of the collection will be shown in the WBB GALLERY in Zurich, but also in a curated special exhibition at PHOTO BASEL, a parallel event of ART BASEL, which will take place from June 13 to 18, 2023.

We look forward to your visit in Zurich or Basel
The WBB Team

One of the many exhibition highlights: an original print of «Child in the Forest» (1951) by Wynn Bullock. The nude scene caused a stir in the 1950s and 1960s during the traveling exhibition «Family of Man» curated by Edward Steichen of the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). At the time, this iconic photograph moved nine million people in around 40 countries, questioning the relationship between Man and Nature. Credits: Wynn Bullock photographs © 1951/2023 Bullock Family Photography LLC. All rights reserved.

Information

Vernissage
WBB GALLERY, Zurich
Sat/Sun 11/12 March 2023, 2 to 6 p.m.

Open to the public
from 2 to 6 p.m. on the following weekends:
1/2 April
29/30 April
20/21 May
24/25 June

Catalog
An exclusive, 140-page catalog for collectors & museums is available upon request. The catalog contains well over 100 photographs and illustrations, numerous explanations, essays, and details on both the collection and the prints, some of which are historically significant. Please direct inquiries to info [at] wbb.gallery.

Tours
Please contact the gallery to arrange your visit:
Dr. Peter Wallimann
cell: +41 79 388 73 09
e-mail:
info [at] wbb.gallery

For Sale
On request, parts of the collection are for sale, but not individual works. Please ask for our detailed catalog (see above) and visit the exhibition. The prints shown are in excellent condition and have been framed to the highest museum standards. Further exhibitions in cooperation with other institutions are possible.

Getting there
WBB GALLERY is located in the pedestrian zone of the old town of Zurich on the corner Trittligasse / Neustadtgasse, just a few minutes from Bellevue, Kunsthaus and Grossmünster: See map

Cover photo (on top of page)
Ansel Adams • «Leaves» (1942) • Mount Rainier National Park (WA) • Silver Gelatin print (13.50 × 10.25 in) •
signed and dated by the artist l © Ansel Adams Publishing Rights Trust l All rights reserved.

Copyrights ©
Please note that strict copyrights apply to all works shown. Photography is not allowed in the gallery. Unauthorized publications, also in social media, can result in drastic penalties, for which WBB GALLERY assumes no liability.

Don Worth (1924 – 2009), first full-time assistant to Ansel Adams, in his subtropical garden in Mill Valley (San Francisco), positioning an 8×10 Deardorff
large-format view camera.
Don ranks among the best plant photographers of the 20th Century. The collection contains 28 of his handmade prints. © Don
Worth Photography Trust; with kind permission by Carol E. Williams, Carmel, CA.

The exhibition includes several original and estate prints by Imogen Cunningham (1883 – 1976) and by The Imogen Cunningham Trust, resp. Imogen’s 1925 photograph titled «Magnolia Blossom – Tower of Jewels» belongs to her most famous floral ones.  The exhibition includes a print of this motif made by Imogen’s son, Rondal Partridge (1917 – 2015). At the end of his life, Ron looked back on eight decades of experience in the darkroom. (© The Imogen Cunninghham Trust l All rights reserved.)

Meet the Best …

Original signatures of the 18 American photographers featured in the exhibition. From top (left) to bottom (right): Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Imogen Cunningham, Morley Baer, Wynn Bullock, Paul Caponigro, Walter Chappell, Robert K. Byers, Minor White, Willard Van Dyke, Henry Gilpin, Don Worth, Bob Kolbrener, Michael Miner, John Sexton, Roman Loranc, Ryuijie.

Impressions (in preparation)

error:

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your data will not be shared!

PURE PHOTOGRAPHY

20th Century Floral Masterworks

Museale Ausstellung l 11. März – 26. August 2023  l  WBB GALLERY  l  Einladung

Imogen Cunningham (1883 – 1976) • Edward Weston (1886 – 1958) • Ansel Adams (1902 – 1984) • Wynn Bullock (1902 – 1975) • Willard Van Dyke (1906 – 1986) • Minor White (1908 – 1976) • Brett Weston (1911 – 1993) • Morley Baer (1916 – 1995) • Robert K. Byers (1918 – 1921) • Henry Gilpin (1922 – 2011) • Don Worth (1924 – 2009) • Walter Chappell (1925 – 2000) • Paul Caponigro (*1932) • Bob Kolbrener (*1942) • Michael Miner (*1949) • Ryuijie (*1950) • John Sexton (*1953) • Roman Loranc (*1956)

Ausstellungstext

Der Begriff «Reine Fotografie» (Pure Photography) wurde von der legendären Gruppe f/64 geprägt, welche ab 1932 im Grossraum von San Francisco aktiv war. Damals stellten sich Pioniere wie Imogen Cunningham, Edward Weston oder Ansel Adams (und andere) gegen den vorherrschenden Piktorialismus, eine vom Impressionismus und der Romantik beeinflusste Strömung. Die Vertreter von f/64 wollten die Schwarzweiss-Fotografie von jeder Manipulation befreien, besonders von der damals verbreiteten Technik des Retuschierens und der künstlichen Erzeugung von Unschärfe. Ihr Ziel waren Authentizität und Klarheit sowie technische Perfektion in der Dunkelkammer.

Um maximale Schärfentiefe zu erreichen, kamen Grossformatkameras und Negative bis zu einem Format von 20 × 25 cm (8 × 10 in) zum Einsatz; zudem Linsen mit extrem kleinen Blenden (f bis 64) sowie kontrastreiches Fotopapier. Die Erzeugung feinster Graustufen und tiefer Schwarztöne führte zu einer Bildsprache, deren Ästhetik oft abstrakte Züge annahm und kleinste Details sichtbar machte. Motive dieser neuen Form des Realismus waren die Landschaft und die Flora des Amerikanischen Westens (American West Coast), besonders Kaliforniens; aber auch soziale und architektonische Studien sowie Aktfotografien wurden gemacht. Die Pioniere der damaligen Zeit veränderten die Wahrnehmung und das Verständnis von Fotografie grundlegend. Ihr Beitrag inspirierte Generationen von Fotografen, bis heute, und führte dazu, dass Fotografie als Medium erstmals in den Rang von Kunst erhoben wurde.

Die museale Ausstellung «Pure Photography» zeigt sowohl Vintage- als auch zeitgenössische Schwarzweiss-Fotografien von 18 bedeutenden Amerikanischen Fotografen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf floralen Motiven. Gezeigt werden Originale, von denen einige fast 100 Jahre Fotografie-Geschichte abdecken. Zugleich verweisen die Aufnahmen auf die Sensibilität und Schönheit der Natur, die heute mehr denn je gefährdet ist. Entsprechend waren viele Pioniere der Schwarzweiss-Fotografie zugleich frühe Umweltschützer, allen voran Ansel Adams, der sich schon in den frühen 1930er Jahren für Naturschutz und Nationalparks eingesetzt hat.

Sämtliche gezeigten Werke stammen aus einer Schweizer Privatsammlung. Ein Teil der Sammlung wird nicht nur in der WBB GALLERY in Zürich gezeigt, sondern auch in einer kuratierten Sonderausstellung an der PHOTO BASEL, einer Parallelveranstaltung der ART BASEL, welche vom 13. bis 18. Juni 2023 stattfindet.

Wir freuen uns über Ihren Besuch in Zürich oder Basel
Das WBB Team

Eins der vielen Highlights der Ausstellung: Ein Originalabzug der Aufnahme «Child in the Forest» (1951) von Wynn Bullock. Die Nacktszene sorgte in den 1950er und 1960er Jahren für viel Wirbel während der Wanderausstellung «Family of Man», welche unter Edward Steichen vom Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) kuratiert wurde. Das ikonische Bild bewegte damals neun Millionen Menschen in rund 40 Ländern. (Wynn Bullock photographs © 1951/2023 Bullock Family Photography LLC. All rights reserved.)

Information

Vernissage
WBB GALLERY, Zürich
Sa/So den 11./12. März 2023, 14 – 18 h

Öffnungszeiten
Jeweils 14 – 18 h an folgenden Wochenenden:
1./2. April
29./30. April
20./21. Mai
24./25. Juni

Katalog
Auf Anfrage steht ein exklusiver, 140-seitiger Katalog für Sammler & Museen zur Verfügung. Der Katalog enthält weit über 100 Abbildungen, zahlreiche Erläuterungen, Essays und Details zur Privatsammlung sowie zu den historisch teils bedeutsamen Fotografien. Anfragen richten Sie bitte an info [at] wbb.gallery.

Führungen
Bitte kontaktieren Sie die Galerie, um einen Termin für eine Führung zu vereinbaren:
Dr. Peter Wallimann
mobil: +41 79 388 73 09
e-mail:
info [at] wbb.gallery

Verkauf
Teile der Sammlung stehen auf Anfrage zum Verkauf, doch keine einzelnen Werke. Bitte verlangen Sie unseren detaillierten Katalog (siehe oben) und besuchen Sie die Ausstellung. Die gezeigten Fotografien befinden sich in ausgezeichnetem Zustand und wurden nach höchsten Museums-Standards gerahmt. Weitere Ausstellungen in Kooperation mit anderen Institutionen sind möglich.

Anreise
WBB GALLERY befindet sich in der Fussgängerzone der Zürcher Altstadt an der Ecke Trittligasse / Neustadtgasse, nur wenige Minuten von Bellevue, Kunsthaus und Grossmünster entfernt: Anreise

Titelbild (oben)
Ansel Adams • «Leaves» (1942) • Mount Rainier National Park (WA, USA) • Original-Silbergelatine-Abzug, handsigniert • 34 × 26 cm l © Ansel Adams Publishing Rights Trust l Mit frdl. Genehmigung l Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Copyrights ©
Bitte beachten Sie, dass für sämtliche gezeigten Werken strikte Copyrights gelten. Das Fotografieren in der Galerie ist nicht erlaubt. Unauthorisierte Veröffentlichungen, auch in den Sozialen Medien, können drastische Strafen nach sich ziehen, wofür WBB GALLERY keine Haftung übernimmt.

Don Worth (1924 – 2009), der erste Vollzeitassistent von Ansel Adams, in seinem subtropischer Garten in Mill Valley (San Francisco) mit einer 8×10-inch Deardorff
Grossformatkamera. Don gilt als einer der besten Pflanzenfotografen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Die Sammlung beherbergt 28 seiner Original-Abzüge. (© Don Worth Photography Trust; mit frdl. Genehmigung von Carol E. Williams, Carmel, Kalifornien.)

Die Privatsammlung umfasst mehrere Original- und Nachlassdrucke von Imogen Cunningham (1883 – 1976) bzw. des Imogen Cunningham Trust. Imogens Fotografie von 1925 mit dem Titel «Magnolia Blossom – Tower of Jewels» gehört zu ihren berühmtesten, was das florale Werk angeht. In der Ausstellung wird ein Abzug dieses Motivs gezeigt, der von Imogens Sohn, Rondal Partridge (1917 – 2015), angefertigt wurde. Am Ende seines Lebens blickte Ron auf acht Jahrzehnte Erfahrung in der Dunkelkammer zurück. (© The Imogen Cunninghham Trust l Alle Rechte vorbehalten.)

Die Besten ihres Fachs vereint …

Jeweilige Original-Unterschrift der in der Ausstellung vertretenen 18 amerikanischen Fotografen. Von oben (links) nach unten (rechts): Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Imogen Cunningham, Morley Baer, Wynn Bullock, Paul Caponigro, Walter Chappell, Robert K. Byers, Minor White, Willard Van Dyke, Henry Gilpin, Don Worth, Bob Kolbrener, Michael Miner, John Sexton, Roman Loranc, Ryuijie.

Impressionen (in Bearbeitung)

error:

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Ihre Daten bleiben vertraulich!