Sensigns 2

Transcending Lights

Digital Graphics by Peter Wallimann
16 Nov 2023 to 22 Jun 2024  l  WBB GALLERY  l  8001 Zürich

Description

Sensigns, an acronym of sense and signs, stands for a long-term project by Peter Wallimann, a Swiss artist and curator. In his ongoing search for the timeless principles of beauty, geometric computer graphics have been created since the Millennium. Now, two decades later, the artist presents new works, using modern printing technology.

Wallimann’s vibrant light bodies fascinate with the interplay of form and color against a deep-black background. The artist strives at exploring the mystical dimension of geometric patterns and harmonic proportions. His creations are typically based upon circles, spirals, and wavy elements, often in combination with kaleidoscopic structures. Their creation with the aid of vector graphics is an intuitive (rather than a technical) process. The artist stresses that his works evolve spontaneously and are manually constructed, rather than being the result of automated algorithms or Artificial Intelligence.

In Wallimann’s work, circular shapes play a crucial role. Circles have neither beginning nor end. In traditions such as Zen Buddhism, the circle symbolizes the infinite on the one hand, and the unity of all being on the other. Unity is assigned the number one (1). From this, number two (2) emerges by splitting into the two poles Yin & Yang. Higher numbers and more-complex structures then evolve from laws such as, e.g., the Fibonacci sequence (3, 5, 8, 13 …), the basis of the Golden Ratio, or from Mandelbrot fractals and other design principles found in Nature.

The Sensigns project oscillates between Science and Art, between the rational and the intuitive, between Western Constructivism and (mostly) Eastern Sacred Geometry, as found in Islamic, Buddhist, Taoist, Sikh, and Konfuzian art, Persian and Japanese calligraphy, and many spiritual symbols such as the Enneagram or the Jewish Kabbalah.

Natural beauty is inherently related to mathematical and geometric order, speaking a language that touches our innermost, across all cultural differences. Hence, it is not surprising that geometric perfection played a crucial role in all high cultures, including the Egyptian pyramids, the Mayan calendar, Indian mandalas, Chinese Feng Shui, the architecture of Gothic cathedrals, and more. Geometric patterns in Nature are omnipresent as well, both in the microcosm and in the macrocosm. Everything is based on natural laws and the universal principles of creation that have been shaping atoms, flowers, people, planets, and the entire cosmos for billions of years.

More people around the world – scientists, programmers, philosophers, and artists – have begun to decipher the coding of beauty. Although much will remain a mystery, our understanding of the inherent perfection of creation is growing. Art plays a special role in this. Projects like Sensigns can open portals to higher spheres, inducing states of consciousness in which everything is mutually connected on the elemental, energetic, and evolutionary levels, respectively.

Important modern and postmodern artists – such as Wassily Kandinsky (1866 – 1944; Bauhaus / Constructivism), Piet Mondriaan (1872 – 1944; Concrete Art), Paul Klee (1879 – 1940; Constructivism / Surrealism), Kazimir Malevich (1879 – 1935; Suprematism), Pablo Picasso (1881 – 1973; Cubism), Joan Miró (1893 – 1983; Poetic Abstraction); M.C. Escher (1898 – 1972; Graphic Surrealism), Mark Rothko (1903 – 1970; Abstract Expressionism), Victor Vasarely (1906 – 1997; Op Art), Philip Taafee (*1955; Modern Painting & Ornamentation), or Emma Kunz (1892 – 1963 ; Radiesthesia), alongside numerous designers and architects – have explored geometric design principles, from purely rational to spiritual points of view.

Peter Wallimann’s vision is to use art to create powerful, uplifting places. In times of increasing social and ideological division, modern temples of beauty are of particular importance as centers of encounter, inspiration, and transcendence – beyond dogma, commerce, and violence.

Please enter!
We look forward to your visit.

Artists’s website: www.sensigns.ch

Information

Vernissage (by invitation only):
Thursday, 16 November 2023, 6 – 9 p.m.
WBB GALLERY, Trittligasse, 8001 Zürich

Opening hours:
On the following  Saturdays, from 1.30 – 5.30 p.m. (and by appointment):
18.11. • 25.11. • 2.12. • 9.12. • 16.12. • 13.1. • 20.1. • 27.1. • 3.2. • 10.2. • 2.3. • 9.3. • 16.3. • 23.3. • 6.4. • 13.4. • 20.4. • 11.5. • 18.5. • 25.5. • 1.6. • 8.6. • 15.6. • 22.6. (Finissage).

Tours (for two to eight people):
Please contact the gallery team to arrange your visit.
Cell: +41 79 388 73 09  l  email: info [at] wbb.gallery

How to find us:
The gallery is located in the pedestrian zone of Zurich’s old town (Oberdorf) on the corner of Trittligasse / Neustadtgasse, a few minutes’ walk from Bellevue, Kunsthaus and Grossmünster. The rooms are not wheelchair accessible.

Attention:
Some of the artworks presented can have a hypnotic effect. People with neurological disorders such as epilepsy are, therefore, advised not to visit the exhibition. In the event of complications, all liability is declined.

error:

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your data will not be shared!

Sensigns 2

Transcending Lights

Digitale Grafiken von Peter Wallimann
16. November 2023 – 22. Juni 2024  l  WBB GALLERY  l  8001 Zürich  l  Sa 13.30 – 17.30 h

Ausstellungstext

Sensigns, ein Akronym aus englisch sense und signs, steht für ein Langzeitprojekt des Schweizer Künstlers und Kurators Peter Wallimann. Auf seiner Suche nach den zeitlosen Prinzipien der Schönheit entstanden bereits um das Millennium herum erste geometrische Grafiken am Computer. Heute, zwei Jahrzehnte später, präsentiert er  mit «Sensigns 2» neue Werke unter Einsatz modernster Drucktechnik.

Peter Wallimanns vibrierende Lichtkörper faszinieren durch das Zusammenspiel von Form und Farbe vor schwarzem Hintergrund. Der Künstler erforscht die mystische Dimension geometrischer Muster und harmonischer Proportionen. Seine Werke setzen sich aus Kreisen, Spiralen und wellenförmigen Elementen zusammen, oft in Kombination mit kaleidoskopartigen Strukturen. Die auf Vektorgrafiken basierenden Arbeiten sind, aller Technologie zum Trotz, das Ergebnis eines intuitiven Prozesses. Der Künstler betont, dass seine Werke spontan entstehen und von Hand konstruiert werden, also nicht das Resultat automatisierter Algorithmen oder Künstlicher Intelligenz sind.

Das Kreisförmige spielt dabei eine entscheidende Rolle. Kreise haben weder Anfang noch Ende. In Traditionen wie dem Zen-Buddhismus symbolisiert der Kreis einerseits das Unendliche, andererseits die Einheit allen Seins. Der Einheit wird die Zahl Eins (1) zugewiesen. Daraus entsteht die Zwei (2) durch Aufspaltung in die beiden Pole Yin & Yang. Höhere Zahlen und komplexere Strukturen entstehen dann z.B. aus der Fibonacci-Folge (3, 5, 8, 13 …), der Grundlage des Goldenen Schnittes, oder aus Mandelbrot-Fraktalen sowie anderen Gestaltungsprinzipien der Natur.

Sensigns bewegt sich im Grenzbereich zwischen Wissenschaft und Kunst, Verstand und Intuition, westlich geprägtem Konstruktivismus und der Heiligen Geometrie des Ostens, wie man sie in Ornamentik und Symbolik findet, besonders in der Kunst des Islam, Buddhismus, Taoismus, Konfuzianismus oder der indischen Sikh-Kultur; aber auch in der Persischen und Japanischen Kalligrafie sowie in spirituellen Symbolen wie dem Enneagramm oder der Kabbala.

Natürlicher Schönheit liegt immer eine mathematisch-geometrische Ordnung zugrunde. Schönheit bedient sich einer Sprache, die den Betrachter im Innersten anspricht und kulturelle Unterschiede überwinden kann. Insofern erstaunt es nicht, dass Mathematik und Geometrie in allen Hochkulturen eine entscheidende Rolle gespielt haben, angefangen bei den ägyptischen Pyramiden über den Maya-Kalender bis hin zu indischen Yantras, der chinesischen Harmonielehre Feng Shui oder der Architektur Gotischer Kathedralen. Auch in der Natur kommen geometrische Muster überall vor, sowohl im Mikro- als auch im Makrokosmos. Letztlich beruht alles auf Naturgesetzen, universellen Schöpfungsprinzipien, die seit Jahrmilliarden Atome, Blumen, Menschen, Planeten und den gesamten Kosmos formen.

Immer mehr Menschen – Wissenschaftler, Programmierer, Philosophen und Künstler – haben begonnen, die Kodierung der Schönheit zu entschlüsseln. Auch wenn vieles ein Mysterium bleiben wird, wächst unser Verständnis für die inhärente Vollkommenheit der Schöpfung. Kunst kommt dabei eine besondere Rolle zu. Projekte wie Sensigns können Portale in ein neues Bewusstsein öffnen und den Betrachter in Sphären erheben, in denen alles mit allem verbunden ist – auf elementarer, energetischer und evolutionärer Ebene.

Bedeutende Kunstschaffende der Moderne und Postmoderne – z.B. Wassily Kandinsky (1866 – 1944; Bauhaus / Konsturktivismus), Piet Mondriaan (1872 – 1944; Konkrete Kunst), Paul Klee (1879 – 1940; Konstruktivismus / Surrealismus), Kasimir Malewitsch (1879 – 1935; Suprematismus),  Pablo Picasso (1881 – 1973; Kubismus), Joan Miró (1893 – 1983; Poetische Abstraktion); M.C. Escher (1898 – 1972; Grafischer Surrealismus), Mark Rothko (1903 – 1970; Abstrakter Expressionismus), Victor Vasarely (1906 – 1997; Op Art), Philip Taafee (*1955; Moderne Malerei & Ornamentik) oder Emma Kunz (1892 – 1963; Heilige Geometrie) – haben (ebenso wie Designer und Architekten) geometrische Gestaltungsprinzipien ausgelotet, von rationalen bis hin zu spirituellen Gesichtspunkten.

Peter Wallimanns Vision ist es, mithilfe von Kunst lichtvolle Räume zu erschaffen, Orte der Kraft. In Zeiten zunehmender gesellschaftlicher und ideologischer Spaltung sind moderne Tempel der Schönheit von Bedeutung als Zentren der Begegnung, der Inspiration und der Transzendenz – jenseits von Dogma, Kommerz und Gewalt.

Bitte eintreten!
Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch.

Webseite des Künstlers: www.sensigns.ch

Information

Vernissage (auf Einladung):
Donnerstag, 16. November 2023, 18 – 21 h
WBB GALLERY, Trittligasse, 8001 Zürich

Öffnungszeiten:
An folgenden Samstagen, jeweils 13.30 –17.30 h (und nach Absprache):
18.11. • 25.11. • 2.12. • 9.12. • 16.12. • 13.1. • 20.1. • 27.1. • 3.2. • 10.2. • 2.3. • 9.3. • 16.3. • 23.3. • 6.4. • 13.4. • 20.4. • 11.5. • 18.5. • 25.5. • 1.6. • 8.6. • 15.6. • 22.6. (Finissage).

Führungen (ab zwei Personen):
Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, um einen Termin für eine private Führung zu vereinbaren:
Tel. +41 79 388 73 09  l  e-mail: info at wbb.gallery

Anreise:
Die Galerie befindet sich in der Fussgängerzone der Zürcher Altstadt (Oberdorf) an der Ecke Trittligasse / Neustadtgasse, wenige Gehminuten von Bellevue, Kunsthaus und Grossmünster entfernt. Die Räume sind nicht rollstuhlgängig.

Warnung:
Einige der Kunstwerke können eine hypnotische Wirkung entfalten. Personen mit neurologischen Störungen wie z.B. Epilepsie wird vom Besuch der Ausstellung abgeraten. Im Falle von Komplikationen wird jede Haftung abgelehnt.

error:

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Ihre Daten bleiben vertraulich!